Timeless Tales from Bengal

Timeless Tales from Bengal : An Anthology of Bangla Children's and Young Adults' Stories Book

Timeless Tales from Bengal : An Anthology of Bangla Children's and Young Adults' Stories

Buddhadeva Bose, the noted Bengali littérateur, once observed that the greatest treasure of Bangla literature is its children’s and young adults’ literature. The achievements of stalwarts as various as Rabindranath Tagore, Upendrakishore Ray Chowdhury, Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay,Sukumar Ray, Manik Bandyopadhyay, Bibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyay, Sharadindu Bandyopadhyay, Narayan Gangopadhyay, Sunil Gangopadhyay, Satyajit Ray and many others in this realm enable it to match similar traditions existing anywhere in the world. 

Their best works also remind us that a good piece for children is also a charming one for the adult. 

Their efforts have made Bangla children’s literature a treasure trove that can enamour any child—or anybody—who loves to read. This unique anthology of thirty-four translated stories invites the reader to a feast that offers on the platter most of the sub-genres in the realm: from fantasy, folk tales and animal stories through comic tales, detective fiction and adventure and suspense stories to ghost stories, historical narratives, sports narratives and tales of social consciousness. Enriched with beautiful illustrations, bionotes of the authors, a glossary and an informed Introduction, the book would also be eminently useful to enthusiastic researchers. Between its covers, the volume presents an enjoyable and fairly comprehensive picture of Bangla children’s and young-adults’ short fiction to the non-Bengali readership for the first time in publishing history.


Arnab Bhattacharya, Amlan Dasgupta, Bipasha Raha, Shuddhasattwa Banerjee, Anindita Chongdar, Somdatta Mandal, Indrani Das, Pritam Bandyopadhyay, Debarati Bandyopadhyay, Reema Sen, Sumanta Gangopadhyay, Aveek Majumdar, Indrani Barua, Jitamanyu Das, Rimli Bhattacharya, Sudev P. Basu, Amrita Dhar, Ritushree Sengupta, Sayantan Dasgupta, Romit Roy, Sudeshna Majumdar,  Santa Bhattacharyya, Angshuman Kar, Amrit Sen, Debmalya Das, Himadri Shekhar Dutta, Sukla Basu Sen, Shaona Barik, Chandrima Das, Sutanuka Ghosh, Sudedhna Majumdar, Ritam Sadhu, Anshuman Bhowmick, Sanmita Ghosh, Tapu Biswas, Suparna Sarkar, Shromona Das, Saurav Dasthakur, S. Siddharth, Abhijit Sen, Amlan Das Gupta, Bipasha Raha, Shambhobi Ghosh, Dipankar Roy, Diya Bandyopadhyay, Ananya Dutta Gupta, Debayan Deb Burman, Parantap Chakraborty, Siddhartha Biswas, Kaustav Chakraborty, Fakrul Alam, Pathik Roy.

Format: Hardback with dust jacket
Size: 216mm x 140mm
Niyogi Books Logo
If you'd like to subscribe to our newsletter, please punch in your name and email Id below